top of page

Important News and Events

Drawing of Owl

What's Happening This Term

Monday 22 April - from 9am Bag2School collection

 

Tuesday 23 April - 1.30 - 6pm Parent Consultations

 

Monday 6 May- May Bank Holiday

 Whole School Golf Day - originally scheduled for  May unavoidably cancelled.  Rescheduled for 7 October

Thursday 16 May - Reception checks (height, weight, sight, hearing), give permission online

Friday 24 May - Dimsdale Award.  Children only assembly (remember to return Dimsdale cup please)

 

27 - 31 May - Half Term

Sunday 9 June - 12pm-4pm Anstey Festival of Fairies and Fantastical Creatures!

Tuesday 11 June - 9am-12pmY2 Athletics at St Edmunds 

 

Wednesday 19 June- Sports Day (spectators invited from 11.30 a.m. on the bottom field/park)

Tuesday 25 June - Fledglings Trip  to Audley End Miniature Railway

Thursday 27 June - Little Owls Trip to Mill Green Museum

Tuesday 2 July - Y3-4 Trip to Nuclear Mud Challenge

Tuesday 2 July - 'Meet The Teacher' - Fledglings Nursery  Sept 2024) - 9.00 a.m. on the playground

Wednesday 3 July  - 'Meet The Teacher' - Y1 and Y2 September 2024 - 9.00 a.m on the playground

Wednesday 3 July - 'Meet The Teacher'  - Y3 and Y4 September 2024 - 9.30 a.m at Reception

Thursday 4 July - 'Meet The Teacher '- Fledglings Reception Sept 2024 - 9.00 a.m. on the playground

Wednesday 10 July - Y4 Leavers Trip to Stanborough Lakes - kayaking and orienteering course

Thursday 11 July - Transition Day (Y4 pupils at Edwinstree)

Friday 12 July - 2pm - 4pm Summer Musical Production in the Village Hall.  Parents warmly invited.

Friday 12 July - 5.30-7.30pm End of Year Disco in the Village Hall - ticket details to follow.

Friday 19 July - 1.30pm Whole School Assembly and Dimsdale Award in the village hall (parents are welcome) School closes 2pm 

Ofsted February 2022: "Anstey First School continues to be a GOOD school"

Sporting Events

 

 

 

Summer Term sport: athletics 

Monday Activities continues with Charlene

Wednesday Sports Club continues with Joe

Please remember Anstey sports kit for competitions (burgundy logo'd polo, black shorts, school sweatshirt)

Whole School Golf Day - rescheduled for 7 October

11 June Little Owls Athletics  Tournament

19 June - Sports Day

(parents please join us from 11.30am)

Cross Country t.b.c.

IMG_0252.JPG
20220527_121922_edited.jpg

Diary Dates Academic Year 2023-2024

Tuesday 5 September - Back to School

 

Saturday 7 October - 12-5pm Festival of Fairies and Fantastical Creatures!

 

Friday 20 October- Dimsdale Award.  Children only assembly (remember to return Dimsdale cup please)

 

23 - 28 October - Half Term (Playscheme available 23 and 24 October)

Monday 30 October - Inset Day

Tuesday 31 October - Back to School

Wednesday 1 November - Start of Online Applications  for Reception and Middle School for September 2024 admissions  

Tuesday 7 November - Parent Consultations 1.30- 5pm

Wednesday 8 November - 9- 11am Flu Immunisation for Reception to Y4 children

8, 9, 10 November - Poppy items for sale for Remembrance Day - generally price 50p -£2

Tuesday 14 November - School Photos (parents may bring siblings not in school to the village hall at 8.15am and EY children not in school today at 8.45am)

Friday 17 November - Children in Need - Wear Spots and Dots to school £2 donation. Pudsey Bearpees with Joe Wicks

 

Tuesday 21 November - Fledglings Library visit 10.30am

Friday 1 December - Occasional Day

Wednesday 6 December - Years 1-4 rehearsal at Edwinstree - travel by minibus

Thursday 7 December 5pm-8pm - exact drop off t.b.c. Years 1- 4 Evening Christmas performance at Edwinstree school (part  of a joint musical entertainment) strictly 4 tickets per family 

Saturday 9 December 10.30am-12.30pm - Breakfast with Santa in the Village Hall

Wednesday 13 December 11 am - Is There A Baby In There - performed in the Village Hall by Pre-school to Year 2 children

Thursday 14 December 5.30 am - Is There A Baby In There - performed in the Village Hall by Nursery to Year 2 children (drop children back to school at 5pm to change

Tuesday 19 December - Christmas Jumper Day (£2 donation please) and Christmas lunch (all children can order including Nursery and Pre-school)

19 December 3.30-5.30pm- Anstey Christmas Fayre in the Village Hall (volunteers needed - please speak to Veronica)

Wednesday 20 December-  1.30pm Whole School Assembly and Dimsdale Award in the Village Hall followed by whole school musical performance by pre-school to Year 4  (parents are of course welcome) School closes 2.30pm 

21 December 2023 - 5 January 2024 - Christmas Holiday

1 January 2024 - Start of paper applications for 2024 Nursery places

Monday 8 January 2023 - Term begins

Monday 15 January - closing date for online Reception and Middle school applications 

Friday 26 January- 'Lego Day' - children will take part in a variety of Lego challenges

w/c 29 January - Reception parents invited to observe phonics teaching in action at 9.30am on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday 

w/ 29 January- Story Telling Week- we will be sharing stories from different cultures

Friday 2 February- Daisy First Aid will deliver 2 workshops to  Wise Owls and Little Owls classes

Tuesday 6 February- Safer Internet Day

Wednesday 7 February - 9-10am Years 1-4 Family Maths Morning in school - for parents of Little Owls and Wise Owls 

Friday 9 February -Chinese New Year - we will celebrate with snacks, chop sticks and a dragon!

Tuesday 13 February- Pancake Day fun in school

Thursday 15 February- Police Visit

Friday 16 February- Dimsdale Award.  Children only assembly (remember to return Dimsdale cup please)

19 -23 February - Half Term (Playscheme available 19 and 20 February)

Monday 26 February - Back to school

 

Thursday 28 February - closing date for paper Nursery applications

 

1 March - Wise Owls and Little Owls trip to Stansted Aerozone

Thursday 7 March - WORLD BOOK DAY, children to bring a favourite book, dress in PJs and (optional) bring a blanket.  No toys please.

Thursday 7 March - 9.30am Reception Screening Checks t.b.c.

Friday 8 March - 2.15pm Mothers and Others Tea

Served in the Village Hall - please join us for yummy refreshments made and served by your children (Owlets pre-school will bring home treats on Thursday 7th)

w/c 11 March - Science Week

12 March - Y2 Tag Rugby cancelled

Friday 15 March - Red Nose Day - £2 donation. Children can wear crazy/red hair do's red noses, accessories, etc

w/c 18 March - Coding Week

Thursday 21 March - Y3/4 Trip to Roman Sites

Friday 22 March - Poetry in The Forest

Tuesday 26 March - Y1-4 whole day Circus Skills Workshop

 

Thursday 28 March - EASTER EGG HUNT

1.30pm Whole School Assembly and Dimsdale Award in the village hall (parents are welcome) School closes 2pm 

29 March - 12 April  -Easter Holiday (Playscheme available 2, 3, 4 and 5 April)

Monday 15 April - Summer Term begins

Monday 22 April - from 9am Bag2School collection

 

Tuesday 23 April - 1.30 - 6pm Parent Consultations

 

Monday 6 May- May Bank Holiday

Tuesday 15 May - Whole School Golf Day - unavoidably cancelled rescheduled for 7 October.

Thursday 16 May - Reception checks (height, weight, sight, hearing), give permission online

Friday 24 May - Dimsdale Award.  Children only assembly (remember to return Dimsdale cup please)

 

27 - 31 May - Half Term

Sunday 9 June - 12pm-4pm Anstey Festival of Fairies and Fantastical Creatures!

Tuesday 11 June - 9am-12pmY2 Athletics at St Edmunds 

Wednesday 19 June- Sports Day (spectators invited from

11.30 a.m. on the bottom field/park)

Tuesday 25 June - Fledglings Trip  to Audley End Miniature Railway

Thursday 27 June - Little Owls Trip to Mill Green Museum

Tuesday 2 July - Y3-4 Trip to Nuclear Mud Challenge

Tuesday 2 July - 'Meet The Teacher' - Fledglings Nursery in September 2024 - 9.00 a.m. on the playground

Wednesday 3 July  - 'Meet The Teacher' - Y1 and Y2 in September 2024 - 9.00 a.m on the playground

Wednesday 3 July - 'Meet The Teacher'  - Y3 and Y4 in September 2024 - 9.30 a.m at Reception

Thursday 4 July - 'Meet The Teacher' - Fledglings Reception in September 2024  - 9.00 a.m. on the playground

Wednesday 10 July - Y4 Leavers Trip to Stanborough Lakes - kayaking and orienteering course

Thursday 11 July - Transition Day (Y4 pupils at Edwinstree)

Friday 12 July - 2pm - 4pm Summer Musical Production in the Village Hall. Parents warmly invited.

Friday 12 July - 5.30-7.30pm End of Year Disco in the Village Hall - ticket details to follow.

Sunday 14 July - Anstey Summer Fair - in the meadow behind Anstey Hall.  Helpers needed.  Children's scarecrow and baking competition - bring along your masterpieces!

Friday 19 July - 1.30pm Whole School Assembly and Dimsdale Award in the village hall (parents are welcome) School closes 2pm 

23 July - inset

23 July - inset

24 July - 30 August  - Summer Holiday (Playscheme available 24 July to 6 August inclusive)

2  September 2024- Inset Day

Tuesday  3 September 2024 - Back to School

 

bottom of page